If you need to completely remove a word you can delete it.
However, if you just want to edit the word or replace it, it is much better to change the word than try to completely delete it and add a new word from scratch.
This is so you preserve the original word timing.
But if you absolutely don’t want a word or need to remove a mistaken word just click the word and click the trash can icon. You can also use the DELETE key if you have one. (Note, the Backspace key will NOT delete the word).
Once you delete the word, the word and timing will be removed from the editor.